Rainbow Bridge is South Africa’s Horse Of The Year

South African Racing’s 2021 virtual Equus Awards were presented on Wednesday night by Equus hosts, Neil Andrews and Jessica Motaung.

2021 Equine categories:


Champion Two-year-old Colt (Distance Immaterial)
• Ambiorix
• Cosmic Highway
• Waterberry Lane
Winner: Good Traveller
Champion Two-year-old Filly (Distance Immaterial)
• Desert Miracle
• Sheela
• Under Your Spell
Winner: Rain in Holland
Champion Three-year-old Colt (Distance Immaterial)
• Kommetdieding
• Linebacker
• Malmoos
Winner: Jet Dark
Champion Three-year-old Filly (Distance Immaterial)
• Captains Ransom
• Zarina
Winner: War of Athena
Champion Older Male (Distance Immaterial)
• Got the Greenlight
• Rio Querari
Winner: Rainbow Bridge
Champion Older Filly/Mare (Distance Immaterial)
• Queen Supreme
• Run Fox Run
• Singforafa
Winner: Summer Pudding
Champion Sprinter (1000-1200 Metres, Age/gender Immaterial)
• Battle Force
• Kasimir
• Run Fox Run
Winner: Rio Querari
Champion Miler (1400-1600 Metres, Age/gender Immaterial)
• Got the Greenlight
• Rainbow Bridge
Winner: Jet Dark
Champion Middle Distance 1800-2200 Metres, Age/gender Immaterial)
• Got the Greenlight
• Jet Dark
• Kommetdieding,
• Linebacker
• War of Athena
Winner: Rainbow Bridge
Champion Stayer (2400 Metres upwards, Age/gender Immaterial)
• Atyaab
• Malmoos
• Silver Host
Winner: Nebraas
2021 Breeder Awards:
Champion Broodmare: Halfway to Heaven
Champion Stallion: Gimmethegreenlight
Champion Breeder: Klawervlei Stud
Outstanding Breeder: Oldlands Stud
International Achievement Varsfontein Stud for Yulong Prince who won the Grade 1 Cantala Stakes in Australia
2021 Media Awards
Print: David Thiselton
for Ashwin Reynolds chuffed to be part of South African History Broadcast: Tawanda TaruvingaA day in the life: Justin Snaith
Still Photography: Candiese Lenferna: Springbok and Cell C Sharks Rugby Captain Siya Kolisi meeting with the Peter Muscutt-trained BlackWhite-Dynamite and getting to know the other sport that the Sharks are invested in, namely, horseracing
2021 Human Categories:
Champion Apprentice: Kyle Strydom
Champion Jockey: Lyle Hewitson
Champion Trainer: Justin Snaith
Champion Owner: Suzette Viljoen
Special Achievement Award: Graeme Hawkins
2021 Horse of the Year:
Winner – Rainbow Bridge
Special Award to the Groom of the Horse of the year:
Winner – Dumasani Bonani

Leave A Comment

All fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required